Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro vs Ninja Foodi XL: Which Countertop Oven Is Better in 2026?

Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro vs Ninja Foodi XL: Which Countertop Oven Is Better in 2026?

Frye

Compare the Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro vs Ninja Foodi XL in 2026. Explore features, cooking performance, capacity, price, and pros and cons.

KitchenLabZone is a reader-supported website. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission—at no additional cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, KitchenLabZone earns from qualifying purchases. These affiliate links help us keep our content free, up-to-date, and helpful for our readers.We only recommend products that we genuinely believe offer value and are relevant to our audience. Our reviews and recommendations are based on research, user feedback, and personal opinions, not influenced by affiliate partnerships.Your support through these links allows us to continue providing high-quality kitchen guides, product reviews, and buying advice.
If you have any questions regarding this disclosure, feel free to contact us.
Thank you for supporting KitchenLabZone!

If you’re weighing the Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro vs Ninja Foodi XL, you’re really choosing between two designs. The Breville (BOV900) leans on a wide temperature range, precise element control, and extras like proofing and slow cooking. The Ninja Foodi XL Pro Air Oven (DT201) is built around two-level cooking and a control panel in the door handle.

This guide compares them using manufacturer documentation, one independent hands-on review, and plain reasoning. We haven’t personally tested either oven, and we say so wherever a point rests on someone else’s testing.

Contents

  1. Quick overview
  2. Comparison table
  3. Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro overview
  4. Ninja Foodi XL Pro Air Oven overview
  5. Detailed comparison
  6. Which oven suits which buyer
  7. Pros and cons
  8. Is the Breville worth the extra money?
  9. Which one should you buy in 2026?
  10. FAQ
  11. Final buying checklist

Quick Overview

  • Consider the Breville if you bake or proof dough, want a very wide temperature range, or like slow cooking in your oven.
  • Consider the Ninja if you regularly cook two sheet-pan items at once and want to save counter height.
  • Biggest practical difference: the two ovens need different clearances and differ in footprint, with different rack strategies for multi-level cooking.
  • Your best pick depends on how you cook and on the exact model you buy. The Ninja DT201 and DT251 are different products.

Comparison Table

Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro (BOV900)Ninja Foodi XL Pro Air Oven (DT201)
PriceBreville.com showed $319.95 (list $399.95) when we checked; check current priceNot verified; check current price
Capacity1 cu ft, per BrevilleInterior volume not verified. Retail listings cite a 5-lb chicken plus a sheet pan, or two 12-in pizzas
Dimensions21.4 W x 17.3 D x 12.7 H inAbout 17 x 20 x 13 in (Tom’s Guide); confirm on the US listing
Wattage1800 W, 120 V1800 W, 120 V
Temperature range120–480°F for most functionsBake 180–450°F; Air Fry/Air Roast 250–450°F
Functions13 (adds Proof, Slow Cook, Cookies, Warm)10 (adds Whole Roast, Air Roast)
HeatingElement IQ, 6 quartz elements, convection and Super Convection“True Surround Convection” (Ninja marketing)
Racks4 grooves, reversible for 8 positions4 rack levels, 2-level cooking on several functions
Accessories13-in pizza pan, 2 racks, 9×13 broil rack and enamel roasting pan, mesh air fry basketRetail listings: air fry basket, 2 racks, roast tray, crumb tray, sheet pan(s); verify count
ThermometerNone documentedNone (DT251 only)
CleaningNon-stick interior walls; accessories not recommended for the dishwasherRoast tray, sheet pan and crumb tray hand-wash only
WarrantyNot stated in manual; see Breville’s warranty page1-year limited

[Check Current Price on Amazon: Breville — URL to be added after verifying the listing]
[Check Current Price on Amazon: Ninja DT201 — URL to be added after verifying the listing]

Breville Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro Overview

  • “Typhur has designed a future where every meal can be mastered, and every cook can have the power of precision in their …
  • World’s First Oven with Built-in Wireless Probe: Cook with precision at home using the first air fryer oven with a built…
  • Smart Air Fryer-Toaster Combo: Cook meats perfectly with the Typhur Sync Oven. A NIST-verified wireless probe with five …

Breville describes 13 cooking functions: toast, bagel, broil, bake, roast, warm, pizza, proof, air fry, reheat, cookies, slow cook and dehydrate. Its Element IQ system uses six independent quartz elements, and Breville says power shifts where it’s needed above and below the food. The instruction book also describes a Super Convection setting that gives crisper results.

Breville says the interior fits nine slices of toast, a 14-lb turkey, a 5-qt Dutch oven and a 9×13 pan. Limitations from the manual:

  • Fatty foods such as wings should go on the roasting pan, not the basket, to avoid dripping.
  • It recommends a dedicated circuit.
  • Preheat alerts sound at 75% of target temperature.

Our full countertop oven roundup covers other options.

[View Breville on Amazon: URL placeholder]

Ninja Foodi XL Pro Air Oven Overview

  • 10-IN-1 VERSATILITY: Air Fry, Air Roast, Bake, Whole Roast, Broil, Toast, Bagel, Dehydrate, Reheat, and Pizza all in one…
  • TRUE SURROUND CONVECTION: Up to 10X the convection power vs. a traditional full-size convection oven for faster, crispie…
  • FASTER COOKING: 90-second oven preheat time and up to 30% faster cooking than a traditional full-size convection oven.

We compare the DT201. Its owner’s guide covers the DT200 series and includes Whole Roast, Air Roast, Air Fry, Bake, Broil, Toast, Bagel, Pizza, Dehydrate and Reheat. The guide notes that Dehydrate and Reheat are not on every model.

The guide shows 4 rack levels, and its chart supports two-layer cooking on several functions. It specifies a roast tray on a sheet pan for greasy foods and for convection functions. It’s a 1800 W unit that needs its own 15-amp outlet, and the guide forbids extension cords.

The DT251 is a different model. It adds a Foodi Smart Thermometer. Don’t credit the DT201 with thermometer cooking.

[View Ninja on Amazon: URL placeholder]

Breville vs Ninja: Detailed Comparison

Labels: Spec = manufacturer documentation, Tested = independent review, Our read = reasoning.

1. Cooking performance and heating consistency

Tested: Tom’s Guide scored the Ninja well across its tests (2021). Spec: Breville documents element-level power adjustment. One competitor claims the Breville bakes more evenly, but its methodology isn’t shown, so we don’t treat that as established. Our read: no source we could verify settles consistency in a true head-to-head.

2. Air-frying frozen fries and chicken wings

Tested: Tom’s Guide found the Ninja did better than the Breville on wings but the Breville did better on frozen fries; the Ninja was poor on frozen fries. This was a 2021 review of an earlier Breville unit it calls the Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro. Spec: Breville directs fatty foods to the roasting pan. Our read: frequent frozen-fry cooks should lean Breville; wing fans should lean Ninja.

3. Baking cookies, bread, cakes and casseroles

Spec: Breville offers 120–480°F, a proof function (80–100°F) and a Cookies preset. The Ninja’s bake range is 180–450°F with no proof. Tested: Tom’s Guide said the Ninja baked a cake well, but cookies took about 15 minutes and browned lightly. Our read: bread bakers get more tools from the Breville. See our baking sheet picks.

4. Roasting chicken and larger meals

Tested: the Ninja roasted a whole chicken in about 50 minutes on Whole Roast. Spec: Breville says it fits a 14-lb turkey; Ninja listings claim a 12-lb bird. Our read: both handle a standard chicken.

5. Capacity and multi-rack cooking

Spec: Ninja’s chart and guide are built around two-level cooking. Breville supports multiple racks, but its manual suggests spacing and using Rotate Remind for the most even results. Our read: families who routinely cook two trays at once will find the Ninja’s workflow more explicit.

6. Temperature controls and cooking presets

Spec: Breville uses dials and an LCD with 13 functions and a Phase Cook feature. Ninja uses push buttons on the door handle, per Tom’s Guide, which found them intuitive.

7. Preheating and cooking time

Marketing: Ninja claims a 90-second preheat. Spec: Ninja’s own guide says preheat doesn’t reach the target temperature and full heat can take up to 10 minutes. Breville’s manual says roughly 8–10 minutes including opening the door. Our read: don’t pick on preheat claims.

8. Ease of cleaning and maintenance

Spec: the Breville interior has a non-stick coating, and Breville advises against dishwashers for accessories. The Ninja’s roast tray, sheet pan and crumb tray are hand-wash only, while racks and basket can go in the dishwasher but may wear faster. Tested: Tom’s Guide found none of the Ninja’s parts had a nonstick finish.

9. Countertop dimensions and kitchen fit

Using manufacturer clearance rules (our arithmetic): the Breville needs 4 in on each side and 6 in above, so about 29 in of width and about 18.7 in of vertical space. The Ninja needs 1 in on all sides, so roughly 14 in of height. Tom’s Guide noted the Ninja’s exterior gets very hot (the glass door reached 282°F) and that it’s noisy (61.3 dBA). Measure before buying.

10. Price, warranty, accessories and ownership value

Breville.com listed $319.95 against a $399.95 list price when we checked. We could not verify the Ninja’s current US price. Ninja gives a 1-year limited warranty; confirm Breville’s term on its warranty page. The Breville includes a pizza pan and roasting pan with broil rack; verify the Ninja listing’s accessory count.

Which Oven Is Better for Different Buyers?

  • Frequent bakers: Breville, for proofing, the 120–480°F range and the Cookies preset.
  • Families cooking large meals: Ninja, for two-level cooking built into its design. Breville is workable but wants more rack management. See our large-family air fryer guide.
  • Air-frying several times a week: either; Ninja for wings, Breville for frozen fries, based on one 2021 review. See air fryers.
  • Small kitchens: depends on cabinets. The Ninja needs less overhead clearance, and the Breville needs more side room.
  • Replacing several appliances: Breville, for slow cook, proof and dehydrate in one unit.
  • Budget-conscious: compare live prices; price gaps have varied and we couldn’t verify the Ninja’s.
  • Easy cleaning and simple controls: Breville for the non-stick interior, Ninja for the straightforward handle controls. It’s close to a draw.

Pros and Cons

Breville

  • Pros: 13 functions including proof and slow cook; 120–480°F range; included pizza pan, roasting pan and broil rack; non-stick interior.
  • Cons: wider and needs more clearance; documentation steers multi-rack users to rotate; fatty air-fry foods need the pan instead of the basket; warranty term not stated in manual.

Ninja DT201

  • Pros: two-level cooking; lower height; push-button controls; a hands-on reviewer called it easy to use.
  • Cons: no proof or slow cook; narrower temperature range (max 450°F); exterior gets very hot and it’s noisy; hand-wash-only trays; 1-year warranty.

Is the Breville Worth the Extra Money?

We can’t state a verified price gap, because we couldn’t confirm the Ninja’s current price. When you compare, check three things: the live price of each exact model, what’s included (the Breville ships with a pizza pan and roasting pan), and the warranty. If you won’t use proofing, slow cooking or a 480°F top end, a lower Ninja price makes the Ninja the better value. If you will, the Breville’s extras are what you’d be paying for.

Which One Should You Buy in 2026?

Buy the Breville if you bake, proof, slow cook or want one oven to replace several gadgets. Buy the Ninja if you cook two trays at once and need to save height. If neither description fits you, the evidence we have doesn’t support a universal winner. Our toaster oven guide covers other options.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Breville better than the Ninja Foodi XL?
Neither wins across the board. The Breville has more functions and a wider temperature range, and the Ninja is built around two-level cooking.

Which is better for baking?
The Breville offers proofing and a higher temperature ceiling. Tom’s Guide found the Ninja baked cake well, though cookies browned lightly.

Which is better for a large family?
The Ninja’s two-level workflow is better documented. The Breville also fits big items, such as a 14-lb turkey per Breville.

Can both air-fry frozen fries?
Yes, but Tom’s Guide found the Breville did better on frozen fries.

Can either replace a full-size oven?
For most everyday tasks, possibly, but verify that your pans fit. Both fit a 9×13 pan or sheet-pan-size cooking per their documents.

Which is easier to clean?
The Breville has a non-stick interior. Ninja’s trays are hand-wash only.

How much counter space do they need?
Breville is 21.4 x 17.3 x 12.7 in plus 4 in per side and 6 in above. The Ninja is about 17 x 20 x 13 in plus 1 in around.

What’s the difference between the Ninja DT201 and DT251?
The DT251 adds the Foodi Smart Thermometer; the DT201 doesn’t have one.

Final Buying Checklist

  • Measure counter width, depth and cabinet height, including clearance.
  • Decide whether you cook one rack or two at a time.
  • Confirm how often you bake or proof.
  • Confirm you have a suitable outlet; both are 1800 W.
  • Decide how much hand-washing you’ll accept.
  • Compare the current prices of the exact models and what’s included.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *